I was hooked the second I read the summary of the book while visiting my library. Good, I had some problems with the way how the plot and story were created and I wouldn´t call it one of my favorite books written by the author, but all in all it turned out to be a wonderful read that gave me a good time. 

by Sandra Brown
Publisher Hachette Books on July 1, 1995
Genre Thriller
Pages 496
Format Paperback
Source Library 

A medical miracle gives TV personality Cat Delaney more than a new heart. With her second chance at life Cat trades Hollywood for San Antonio, where she hosts a TV show for children with special needs. Here she meets Alex Pierce, an ex-cop turned crime writer – and the first man to see her as a woman since her surgery. But her new world turns sinister when fatal “accidents” begin killing other heart recipients, and a mysterious stalker starts shadowing her every move. Soon Cat realizes Alex may or may not be her most important ally – and that her new heart comes at a terrible price: a tangled web of secrets and someone determined to take her life.
Cat Delaney, the star of a TV series, has to undergo a heart transplant and is practically a different person from then on. Suddenly, her former priorities are shifted, and not only her employee feels it, her friend, cardiologist Dr. Dean Spicer, is affected too. Several times he asks her to marry him, but Cat always refuses because she feels that she will always be the patient for him and never the woman she is. With passionate dedication, she seeks donations for organ transplants and takes care of patients waiting for an appropriate organ. One day, much to Dean´s misunderstanding, she decides to withdraw from the series and settle in San Antonio. To host a small broadcast on the local TV station WWSA. Who wants to try to find children who are not easy to adopt. On one appointment, she happens to meet the ex-police officer and writer Alex Pierce. She feels attracted to him and so it happens that the paths of the two crosses more often. His dark side is like a challenge for her. When she anonymously receives newspaper clippings in the mail about the fatal accidents involving several cardiac patients who were given a new life at around the same time as her, she begins to investigate. When a spotlight crashes off the ceiling in the studio and misses her by just a few centimeters, she reluctantly agrees to use his old connections to the police and tell him about the anonymously delivered newspaper clippings. Together, they continue to research and reveal more than just a well-kept secret. Cat is not only faced with the difficult decision to trust a person she hardly knows she also has to recognize that she has to give love a chance to continue living. A nifty cat and mouse game begins.  

The story begins in October 1990 with her protagonist Cat shortly before her heart transplant. Even though a lot has happened, and the storyline is not boring, the thriller was almost a bit too long for me. Despite that, Sandra Brown has restricted herself in the act of using technical terms only to the extent that this gives her act credibility and reality. Without ending in technical jargon and complicated explanations. I highly appreciated that while reading and had some really wonderful reading hours.

In this thriller Sandra Brown characterizes her figures very convincingly, and as a reader you are not able to tell at first glance whether some of the characters are good or bad. The author skillfully shows the diversity of her personalities, and not only her protagonist Cat is full of unexpected surprises. 

An exciting thriller that has it all. Although the first chapters read a bit lengthy, and in which the reader hovers in ignorance until the last chapter, which of the characters is now the murderous revenge angel. 

Happy reading

Sandra Brown
Sandra Brown ©Gregory Heisler Studios

Sandra Brown is the author of seventy New York Times bestsellers. Brown began her writing career in 1981 and since then has published over seventy-five novels. Bringing the number of copies of her books in print worldwide to over eighty million. Her work has been translated into thirty-four languages. A lifelong Texan, Sandra Brown was born in Waco, grew up in Fort Worth and attended Texas Christian University, majoring in English. She is much in demand as a speaker and guest television hostess. Her episode on truTV´s Murder by the Book premiered the series in 2008. She appeared in 2010 on Investigation Discovery´s new series, Hardcover Mysteries. In 2009 Brown detoured from her thrillers to write Rainwater, a much acclaimed powerfully moving story about honor and sacrifice during the Great Depression. Brown holds an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Texas Christian University where she and her husband Michael Brown, have instituted the ELF, a scholarship annually awarded to a student pursuing a fiction-writing career. In 2008, she was named Thriller Master, the top award given by the International Thriller Writer´s Association. Other awards and commendations include the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Award for Literature and the Romance Writers of America´s Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2011 she and four colleagues went on a week-long USO tour to Afghanistan, meeting with service members on numerous bases. Sandra is the past president of the Mystery Writers of America in 2012. She lives in Arlington, Texas, with her husband, Michael Brown.


No comments:

Note: By submitting your commentar, you accept that the comment you write, and the personal information associated with it (e.g. username, email address, linked profile on Google/Wordpress) will be transmitted to Google servers. You can find more information in my privacy policy and in Google´s Privacy Policy.

Hinweis: Mit dem Abschicken deines Kommentars akzeptierst du, dass der von dir geschriebene Kommentar und die personenbezogenen Daten, die damit verbunden sind (z.B. Username, E-Mail-Adresse, verknüpftes Profil auf Google/Wordpress) an Google-Server übermittelt werden. Weitere Informationen dazu findest du in meiner Datenschutzerklärung und in der Datenschutzerklärung von Google.